The Major Port Authorities Act, 2021 came into force on 03.11.2021. Section 54 of the Act envisages constitution of an Adjudicatory Board which is to perform the functions stipulated under section 58 of the said Act.   

The Major Ports Adjudicatory Board Rules, 2023, framed under the said Act, has been notified by the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways in the Gazette on 17.01.2023.  The Adjudicatory Board shall consist of a Presiding Officer and two members. The Presiding Officer shall be a retired Judge of Supreme Court of India or a retired Chief Justice of a High Court and the two Members shall either be a retired Chief Secretary of a State Government or equivalent; or a retired Secretary of the Government of India or equivalent.

The Presiding Officer and Members of the Adjudicatory Board shall be appointed on the recommendation of a Selection Committee consisting of Chief Justice of India or his nominee; Secretary of the Department of Personnel and Training and Secretary of Ministry of Ports, Shipping & Waterways.

Action is being initiated by the Government to constitute the Adjudicatory Board as per the above Rules.  Once the Adjudicatory Board is constituted the Tariff Authority for Major Ports will cease to exist.

Source : PIB